Sep 16, 2020

Sports and Recreational Areas Lighting Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope And Documents


This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for lighting interior and exterior sports and recreational areas.


Included subject matter: The scope includes specific visual needs of each individual sports including the needs of participants and spectators. It addresses various levels of competition, each specific to each sport’s level of play. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover the illumination of related public areas outside the project limitations.


Committee Leadership

– Jim Sanfilippo

Profile Image
Jim Sanfilippo is the founder, president and CEO of Nila Inc. Before starting Nila Jim spent over twenty-one year behind the camera as a lighting professional in motion picture and television production. Jim has worked on a diverse blend of high and low budgeted motion pictures and television projects including over 500 TV commercials. Jim has extensive experience in visual effects for feature films including: “T2-3D Battle Across Time,” “Mars Attacks,” “Dante’s Peak,” “Armageddon,” “Vertical Limit,” “I Robot,” “Day After Tomorrow,” “Talladega Nights,” “The Departed” and “The Good Shepherd.” Jim started Nila Inc. to bring the highest quality environmentally friendly solid-state lighting equipment to the motion picture, television, sports and related industries. Jim has been a voting member of the Illuminating Engineering Societies Sports Lighting Committee since 2012.


– Joseph R. Casper


– Lori Smith

Members (Voting)

  • Lance K. Livingston
  • Michael Owens
  • Heather Johnson
  • Michael A. Lambert
  • Russ Owens, LC
  • Christopher B. Fote
  • John D. Bullough
  • Hongyi Cai
  • Clark Douglass
  • Morris Zukerman
  • Jay R. Wratten
  • Christy L. Rogers
  • Matthew Moore

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • David S. Vukovich
  • Sam M. Berman
  • Ben Drost
  • Corey Berhost
  • Michael Quijano
  • James McCarty
  • Alicia Paintner
  • Christopher Nolan
  • Darren R. Couch

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Don S. McLean

Board Liaisons

Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Brian Liebel
  • Dan Ozminkowski