Sep 16, 2020

Outdoor Nighttime Environment Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope And Documents


The Outdoor Nighttime Environment Committee is responsible for writing and maintaining IES standards covering the visual aspects of outdoor lighting, such as nighttime vision and glare, for general pedestrian applications inclusive of non-roadway environmental components (e.g., walkways, landscaping, art, monuments, and building facades), and for establishing lighting guidelines for the nighttime environmental factors of sky glow and wildlife preservation.


Included: Nighttime illumination recommendations for outdoor spaces including pathways, plazas, landscaping, building facades, art, and monuments that address both visual and environmental factors. Not Included: Special applications that require additional visual expertise beyond the visual and environmental impacts stated above, such as lighting for roadways, sporting facilities, industrial plants, airports, port terminals, or applications targeted to light and human health.


Committee Leadership

Committee Chair – – Morgan Pattison

Profile Image
Founder/President of Solid State Lighting Services, Inc. providing technical, strategic and market expertise in the areas of LEDs, OLEDs, Lighting, SSL, displays, optoelectronic materials and devices. Morgan has also managed DOE funded R&D projects in SSL including LED and OLED, and identified areas of research necessary for advancement of SSL efficiency, performance and price. Morgan ha also been a Graduate Student Researcher for the University of California at Santa Barbara, working on his Doctoral thesis under Professor Shuji Nakamura (Nobel Prize in Physics 2014). Prior to graduate work, Morgan was a Laser Test Engineer for Cymer Laser in San Diego. Morgan is a member of the IES, holds an LC, and is also a member of the International Society of Horticultural Scientists, the International Dark-Sky Association, A Project Management Professional from the Project Management Institute, and the U.S. Government Contracting Officer’s Representative.


– David M. Keith

Members (Voting)

  • Anita Jorgensen
  • National Park Service
  • Shirley Coyle
  • Jane Slade
  • Cathleen Shattuck
  • Kate S. Hickcox
  • Leora C. Radetsky
  • National Park Service
  • Peter B. Strasser
  • Rajaram Bhagavathula
  • Steve A. Fotios
  • Ronald Gibbons
  • Richard Wainscoat
  • Travis Longcore
  • Fabio Falchi
  • Anne-Marie E. Lemieux
  • Terry K. McGowan
  • William Hodges
  • Mathieu D’Aoust
  • Nancy E. Clanton
  • Ian Ashdown
  • Randy J. Burkett
  • Bob Parks
  • Rick A. Utting
  • James Morgan
  • Rick Kauffman
  • Kathryn Toth
  • Nancy E. Clanton
  • Bradley Schlesselman

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Rebecca Rainer
  • John D. Bullough
  • Ute C. Besenecker
  • Eduardo Rodriguez-Feo Bermudez
  • Naomi J. Miller
  • Patrick Trepanowski
  • Paul K. Ericson
  • Christopher B. Fote
  • Matthew Hartley
  • Jorge Mission
  • Jeremy W. Yon
  • Victor Eberhard
  • John M. Higo
  • Douglas W. Paulin
  • Marc-Antoine Vachon
  • Philip H. Wyton
  • Francis J. Krahe
  • Michael A. Lambert
  • Karolina M. Zielinska-Dabkowska
  • Terry K. McGowan

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Don S. McLean

Board Liaisons

  • Tanya T. Hernandez
  • Kelly M. Seeger

Staff Liaisons

  • Dan Ozminkowski
  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy