Sep 16, 2020

Board of Fellows Award Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope And Documents


To evaluate the eligibility of candidates for the designation of Fellow, according to procedures approved by the Board of Directors.



Committee Leadership

Committee Chair – – Ron Gibbons

Profile Image
Ron Gibbons is the Director of the Center for Infrastructure Based Safety Systems (CIBSS) at the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI). He is the Institute’s lead lighting research scientist. He is currently the PI on projects investigating the impact of outdoor lighting on human health, the Spectral Effects of new light sources on roadways, the visibility of police vehicles and is the subject matter lead for the FHWA office Safety IDIQ contract. Dr. Gibbons is also an Associate Professor in the School of Architecture and Design at Virginia Tech. Gibbons is the author of over 80 published papers on roadway lighting, photometry, and target visibility. He is a past Director of Division 4 of the International Commission on Illumination (CIE) and a past president of the Illuminating Engineering Society.

Members (Voting)

  • Lorne Whitehead
  • Randy J. Burkett
  • Francesca Bettridge
  • John D. Green

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

Advisory Panel Liaisons

Board Liaisons

  • Antonio Garza
  • Kelly A. O’Connor

Staff Liaisons

  • Jennifer Jaques