Sep 16, 2020

Discomfort Glare in Outdoor Nighttime Environments Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope And Documents


This Technical Committee was formed to define a glare metric that can be used by lighting designers to determine if glare will exist at off-site viewing locations.


Included subject matter: The scope includes defining a dark-adapted glare metric and field verification method(s) of the predicted glare. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover on-site evaluation of glare.


Committee Leadership

– Bradley D. Schlesselman, LC

Profile Image
Brad is responsible for various lighting and vision research projects at Musco Lighting in Oskaloosa, Iowa. He began his lighting career as a Lighting Designer for Musco in 1998 and became Lighting Certified (LC) in 2001. During his time at Musco he has completed lighting designs for thousands of athletic fields, ranging from recreational to professional venues. He has also conducted numerous training seminars on lighting and related lighting topics, as a Technical Training Specialist. In 2012, he became a Senior Research Engineer engaged with vision research on the Intrinsically Photosensitive Retinal Ganglion Cells (IPRGC)/melanopsin receptors and their role on perceived brightness. He has conducted numerous speaking engagements for the lighting industry and is currently the Chair of the Discomfort Glare in Outdoor Nighttime Environments Committee (IES). He is also a member of the Sky Glow Committee (IES) and serves on the International Dark-Sky Association Technical Committee. Melanopic Research Presentations/Demonstrations: • 2015 IES Annual Conference (Indianapolis, IN) • 2016 CORM Annual Meetings (Gaithersburg, MD) • 2016 IES Research Symposium (Gaithersburg, MD) • PNNL – Lighting Research Facility (Portland, OR) • 2017 IES Annual Conference (Portland, OR) • 2018 LightFair (Chicago, IL) • 2020 DOE SSL Workshop (San Diego, CA)

Members (Voting)

  • Yulia Tyukhova
  • Nancy E. Clanton
  • Mark P. Jongewaard
  • Michael A. Lambert
  • Rajaram Bhagavathula
  • Terry K. McGowan
  • Christian K. Monrad
  • Christopher B. Fote
  • Clarence E. Waters
  • Steve A. Fotios
  • Naomi J. Miller
  • Victor Eberhard
  • Ute C. Besenecker
  • Kate S. Hickcox

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Randy J. Burkett
  • Lance K. Livingston
  • Ronald Gibbons
  • Richard Larivee
  • Jeremy W. Yon
  • Manoj Illangasooriya
  • Alexey Kalinin
  • Marc-Antoine Vachon
  • Don S. McLean
  • Leora C. Radetsky
  • Don Vendetti
  • Shaun D. Fillion
  • Belal Abboushi
  • Paul Lutkevich
  • Aaron Gray
  • Raymond G. Janik
  • Jeff Davis
  • John D. Bullough

Advisory Panel Liaisons

Board Liaisons

Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Zoe Milgram
  • Alex Baker
  • Dan Ozminkowski