Sep 16, 2020

Lighting Commissioning Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope And Documents


This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for the commissioning of lighting systems in the built environment, and for compliance with Owner’s Project Requirements.


Included subject matter: The scope includes the technical requirements for commissioning lighting and control systems to achieve owner performance criteria in new construction. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover retro-commissioning or commissioning for facilities that have not been previously commissioned.


Committee Leadership

– Michael Myer

Profile Image
Michael Myer has been with Pacific Northwest National Laboratory since 2007. Prior to joining PNNL, Michael worked as an architectural lighting designer in New York, first with Hayden McKay and then later with Naomi Miller. Michael became an architectural lighting designer after completing his M.S. in Lighting from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and his B.A. in Theatre from Arizona State University. Since joining PNNL Michael has worked on a wide-ranging number of lighting projects. Michael splits his time across a variety of programs including Building Energy Codes and Federal Appliance Standards; Commercial Building Integration, and Advanced Lighting / solid-state lighting. These programs provide Michael with a cross-cutting point of view where he can borrow and share across the programs. Michael has been involved in many field evaluations and demonstrations.

Members (Voting)

  • Joseph J. Deringer
  • Shoshanna Segal
  • Douglas M. Welch
  • Michael W. Mehl
  • Trina L. Larsen
  • Walter T. Grondzik
  • Yoelit H. Hiebert
  • Mitchell K. Hefter
  • Kevin Lapalme
  • Maya Paskova

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Daniel G. Salinas
  • Xavier Varghese
  • Michael E. Poplawski

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Robert Graham
  • Jason R. Tuenge

Board Liaisons

Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Dan Ozminkowski