Jan 26, 2017

Lance Bennett Assumes Presidency of IES (2018 – 2019)

Effective July 1, 2018, Lance Bennett assumed the office of President of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES), the international leader in lighting education, standards, publications and professional development. Bennett succeeds Cheryl English.
It’s that time of year again when we begin the IES Board of Directors (Board) nominations process to identify the future leaders of our Society. This is one of the most important annual processes that any organization goes through. This is a very exciting time and we need your continued involvement to make the nomination process successful. We want our Board to be representative of the finest leaders in the industry, and we need your input to make that happen!
At the end of July, Bruce Sohl, IES Controller for nearly 27 years, will be retiring. Bruce came to IES with experience in public accounting specializing in small business, which turned out to benefit IES tremendously. Bruce’s primary task was to create financial stability to allow for the future success of the IES which he accomplished over the past 27 years and much more.
The Joint Development Agreement between the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IES) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Incorporated (IEEE) is to jointly develop a document, IEEE 3001.9 -201X / IES RP-XX-201X, Recommended Practice for the Design of Power Systems That Supply Lighting Systems in Industrial and Commercial Facilities. The development is expected to be a multi-year effort and will contain significant content and references to current IES Recommended Practice standards and include contributions from IES topical experts. The new standard will be developed under the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) process.
LD+A Magazine is the recipient of the 2016 EXCEL Gold Award for General Excellence (10,000 or fewer circulation) from Association Media & Publishing (AM&P). Paul Tarricone, Publisher and Editor of LD+A, received the award at the 36th Annual EXCEL Awards Gala on June 27, 2016, in Washington, DC.