Horticultural Lighting Committee

Horticultural Lighting Committee

Lighting Applications Group

Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for horticultural lighting using climate-based annual daylighting and electric lighting with lighting and shading controls.
  • Included subject matter:  Controlled horticultural environments such as greenhouses, plant factories, and building atria.
  • Excluded subject matter:  Horticultural lighting metrics, luminaire test and measurement procedures, and energy performance for luminaires.
View document description in IES Bookstore  
Available in Applications Collection  


Committee Chair
Ian E. Ashdown
Ian Ashdown Ian Ashdown, P. Eng. (Ret.), FIES, is President and Senior Scientist of SunTracker Technologies Ltd. (Victoria, Canada), a company developing architectural, horticultural, and healthcare lighting design software.

Committee Members (Voting)

  • Aaron P. Welch
  • Amardeep M. Dugar
  • Chris Bishop
  • Doosung Park
  • Emil Radkov
  • Graeme G. Lister
  • Hugh S. Carroll
  • Irina Rasputnis
  • Kale Harbick
  • Leora Radetsky
  • Marvin Boell
  • MIchael S. O'Boyle
  • Mike L. Carter
  • Morgan Pattison
  • Tessa H. Pocock

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Aaron A. Feldman
  • Greg Barker
  • Jarrod Joffe
  • Kasey Holland
  • Manju Dileep
  • Rosemary Jojic
  • Roy Harvey
  • Ryan W. Siddon

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Jason Tuenge

Staff Liaisons

  • Dawn De Grazio
  • Geomara Flores
  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy