regions of the electromagnetic spectrum

[2.15] For convenience of reference, the electromagnetic spectrum is arbitrarily divided as follows:

Vacuum Ultraviolet
     Extreme ultraviolet 10 to 100 nm
     Far ultraviolet 100 to 200 nm
     Middle ultraviolet 200 to 300 nm
     Near ultraviolet 300 to 400 nm
     Visible 380 to 770 nm
     Near (short wavelength) infrared 770 to 1,400 nm
     Intermediate infrared 1,400 to 5,000 nm
     Far (long wavelength) infrared 5,000 to 1,000,000 nm

Note: The spectral limits indicated above have been chosen as a matter of practical convenience. There is a gradual transition from region to region without sharp delineation. Also, the division of the spectrum is not unique. In various fields of science, the classifications may differ due to the phenomena of interest.

« Back to Definitions Index