Committee Detail

Light and Design Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Technical Committee reviews, researches and develops best practices for lighting design considerations and techniques.

Included subject matter: The scope includes all areas where natural and electric lighting are used, including interiors and exteriors. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover specific lighting applications, codes, energy considerations, or specific technologies.

Committee Leadership

John Fox
Profile Image
John Fox, President of FOX AND FOX DESIGN, is a prominent lighting designer of 30 years’ experience with a passion for great lighting. He has been a proponent for high CRI lighting and holistic design solutions that take careful consideration to the human condition. He has numerous international IES and IALD Lighting Awards, been a speaker at numerous conferences around the world, and is an active committee member for the IES and when not playing with light, is usually found in the waves, surfing with his wife and two children.

Vice-Chair - Richard Rummel

Vice-Chair - Michael A. Myer

Members (Voting)

  • Mike Lehman
  • Yukiko Yoshida
  • Leslie M. North
  • Carlos Inclan
  • Gregory C. Hansen
  • Carla Bukalski
  • Darren D. Kelly
  • Jeffrey R. Dross
  • Bob Parks
  • Donald R. Lincoln
  • Ming Jiang
  • Peter A. Hugh

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Yue Zhao
  • Eleni Savvidou
  • Karen P. Murphy
  • Christine Brotz

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Tanya T. Hernandez

Board Liaisons


Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Geomara Flores