Committee Detail

Daylighting Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for daylighting through the dual use of daylight and electric lighting controls.
• Included subject matter: The scope includes daylighting interior spaces. • Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover performance aspects of fenestration design not pertaining to lighting and thermal load consideration.

Committee Leadership

Konstantinos Papamichael
Profile Image
Konstantinos Papamichael is a Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Davis, where he taught lighting courses and directed research at the California Lighting Technology Center. He has been working on the development of energy efficiency strategies and technologies for buildings since 1983, focusing on strategies, technologies and design tools for fenestration systems, daylighting, and the integration of fenestration, electric lighting and HVAC controls. He holds seven patents and is author/co-author of more than 100 publications. He is also the IES Daylighting Committee Chair, and the Communications VP of the US National Committee of the International Commission on Illumination.

Vice-Chair - Neall E. Digert

Members (Voting)

  • Brent Protzman
  • Amy Keller
  • Eric G. Huffman
  • Jeffrey T. Berg
  • Matthew D. Franks
  • Richard G. Mistrick
  • Rania Labib
  • Matthew Tanteri
  • William R. McCluney
  • Luis L. Fernandes
  • Kyle S. Konis
  • Zack L. Rogers
  • Anthony W. Serres
  • Lisa Heschong
  • Hongyi Cai
  • Khaled A. Mansy
  • Ihab Elzeyadi
  • Dennis F. Souza

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Amir Nezamdoost
  • Anne K. Ullestad
  • Sagar U. Rao
  • Giulio M. Podesta
  • Daniel C. Glaser
  • Geoffrey C. Wright
  • Jae Yong Suk
  • Paulo S. Scarazzato
  • Alfonso E. Hernandez
  • Jens Christoffersen
  • Christopher N. James
  • Szucheng CHIEN
  • Bing Gu
  • Abdelaziz Laouadi
  • Francis J. Krahe
  • Cristian Suvagau
  • Liliana O. Beltran
  • Dan Weissman
  • James Ford
  • Yoelit H. Hiebert
  • Belal Abboushi

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Paul Lutkevich
  • Jonathan T. Weaver

Board Liaisons


Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Zoe Milgram
  • Geomara Flores