Committee Detail

Horticultural Lighting Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for horticultural lighting using climate-based annual daylighting and electric lighting with lighting and shading controls.


Included subject matter: Controlled horticultural environments such as greenhouses, plant factories, and building atria. Excluded subject matter: Horticultural lighting metrics, luminaire test and measurement procedures, and energy performance for luminaires.



Committee Chair

Ian Ashdown

Ian Ashdown, P. Eng. (Ret.), FIES, is President and Senior Scientist of SunTracker Technologies Ltd. (Victoria, Canada), a company developing architectural, horticultural, and healthcare lighting design software.

Members (Voting)

  • Marvin Boell
  • Tessa H. Pocock
  • Emil Radkov
  • Irina Rasputnis
  • Graeme G. Lister
  • Aaron A. Feldman
  • Chris Bishop
  • Kale Harbick
  • Doosung Park
  • Aaron P. Welch
  • Michael S. O'Boyle
  • Morgan Pattison
  • Michael Phillips
  • Amardeep M. Dugar
  • Mike L. Carter
  • Hugh Carroll
  • Leora C. Radetsky

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Greg Barker
  • Rosemary Mullane
  • Roy Harvey
  • Jarred Joffe
  • Ryan W. Siddon
  • Kasey Holland
  • Manju Dileep

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Jason R. Tuenge

Board Liaisons


Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Dawn De Grazio
  • Geomara Flores
  • Zoe Milgram