Committee Detail

Skyglow Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Committee is tasked with developing recommended calculations, procedures, and tools for estimating contributions to nighttime skyglow from various end-uses of general illumination.
Included subject matter: The scope includes spectral power distribution (SPD), light distribution, intensity, and related characteristics of how light enters the night sky, e.g., hours of use. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover downstream effects of the light emission such as brightness perception, color rendering, discomfort glare, circadian rhythm, or other health or environmental considerations.

Committee Leadership

Ian Ashdown
Profile Image
Ian Ashdown, P. Eng. (Ret.), FIES, is President and Senior Scientist of SunTracker Technologies Ltd. (Victoria, Canada), a company developing architectural, horticultural, and healthcare lighting design software.

Members (Voting)

  • Bradley Schlesselman
  • Michael L. Grather
  • Richard Wainscoat
  • Miroslav Kocifaj
  • Dan Duriscoe
  • Lindsay Malbon
  • Fabio Falchi
  • Constance Walker
  • Patrick Trepanowski
  • Li-Wei Hung
  • Bruce R. Kinzey

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Robert D. Clear
  • Luke Wilmott

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Don S. McLean

Board Liaisons


Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Brian Liebel
  • Dawn De Grazio
  • Zoe Milgram
  • Geomara Flores