Committee Detail

Light Sources Committee


Committee Purpose, Scope and Documents

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for evaluating and selecting light sources and systems.

Included subject matter: The scope includes Solid State Lighting sources and systems, and general technical attributes and associated developments in light and lamp sources. Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover specific applications of particular light sources.

Committee Leadership

Eric S. Perkins
Profile Image
Eric has been Lighting Certified, since 1999. He holds a B.S. in Meteorology, from SUNY Oswego, NY. as well as extensive study & coursework in EE and ME at NYIT and an MFA in Lighting Design from Parsons School of Design. He is employed with New York Digital as an in-house Senior Lighting Specialist and holds extensive knowledge / experience in lighting applications, photometrics, light sources and product design. He is currently President of the IES Light Sources Committee and a 33-year veteran of the Lighting Industry and holds lighting related patents under his name. An accomplished speaker, educator and technical writer, and (fun fact) a former voiceover artist, Eric is a fabulous lighting historian and avid collector of unusual / vintage lamps and photo controls. You could say that lighting has been a part of him all his life as he became fascinated with lighting and light sources at the age of 6 months old!

Vice-Chair - Jianzhong Jiao

Members (Voting)

  • Eric Bretschneider
  • Kaikai Xu
  • Yoelit H. Hiebert
  • Ernesto Mendoza
  • Raymond G. Janik
  • Raul E. Valdes
  • Eugene Graff
  • David E. Korow
  • Laura A. Glaser
  • Jonathan C. Vollers

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)

  • Sagar U. Rao
  • Prathika Appaiah
  • Irena Fryc
  • Adam N. Lamar

Advisory Panel Liaisons

  • Robert Karlicek, Jr.

Board Liaisons


Staff Liaisons

  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Geomara Flores