Mar 31, 2022

The Nuckolls Fund for Lighting EducationThe Nuckolls Fund for Lighting Education has issued $130,500 in grants and awards ranging from $5,000 to $30,000 for 2022. The Fund supports college-level lighting programs, allowing students to learn, appreciate and apply the fundamentals of lighting design in recognition of lighting educator James L. Nuckolls; submissions for financial support are reviewed annually by the Fund’s Board of Directors. Since its formation in 1988, the Fund has dispersed over $1,715,000. 

This year three $30,000 Nuckolls Grants have been awarded to the expansion of lighting curricula at The University of Arkansas, Fayetteville (Jake Tucci); the School of Architecture and Design, Virginia Tech (James Jones and Ron Gibbons); and Mississippi State University (Robin Carroll). The recipient of the $7,500 Lesley Wheel Grant is Victoria McReynolds, Texas Tech.

The $13,000 Edison Price Fellowship will be awarded to Arpan Guha (Lawrence Technological University) for a summer internship at the Light and Health Research Center at Mount Sinai.

The recipient of the $5,000 Jonas Bellovin Scholar Achievement Award is Sachintha De Vas Gunawardena, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

The two recipients of the $5,000 Jules Horton International Student Achievement Award are Wangyang Song, Pennsylvania State University and Makayla Thompson, University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

The recipient of the $5,000 2021 Designers Lighting Forum of New York Student Achievement Awards is Paola Kwan, University of Colorado, Boulder.

Learn more at