Committee Group: Lighting Practice

Statement of Purpose

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for lighting museum collections and environments with consideration for the preservation of sensitive materials.

Committee Scope Parameters

  • Included subject matter: The committee scope is limited to lighting applications within the museum environment, particularly exhibits and areas immediately adjacent to exhibits that affect the visitor’s museum experience.
  • Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover the illumination of related public areas such as exteriors, retail, and restaurants.
Documents maintained by this committee

ANSI/IES RP-30 Recommended Practice for Museum Lighting

  • Scott Rosenfeld, Smithsonian Institution / National Museum of American History
Staff Liaison
  • Geomara Flores
  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • Kaitlin N. Page
  • Barry D. Besmanoff
  • Jennifer C. Concepcion, USAI Lighting
  • William Ellis, Candela Controls Inc.
  • Mark D. Fink, Barbizon Capitol Inc.
  • Matthew D. Franks, ARUP Lighting
  • Paul Himmelstein
  • Ken Kane
  • Stan Kaye, University of Florida
  • Frank A. Florentine, FIES, LC, Frank A. Florentine Lighting Design
  • Eileen M. Pierce, Pierce Lighting Studio
  • Steven Rosen
  • Richard Rummel, Minnesota Historical Society
  • Matthew Tanteri, Tanteri + Associates, LLC
  • Masahiro Toiya
  • Steven Weintraub
Advisory Members
  • Farah Pourbabai Barnes, APV Exhibits & Lighting Inc.
  • Carina M. Betts, Self Employed
  • David Bobeck, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
  • Jill Cody, Dark Light Design
  • Gilberto J. Costa, GREENLUZ Consulting Services
  • Daniel Garside
  • Daniel Gelman
  • Jeff Green
  • Raymond Grenald
  • Mehran Hashemi
  • Kathryn Sweater Hickcox
  • John M. Hickman, Ledra Brands, Inc. (Bruck - Alphabet - Molto Luce)
  • Jean F. Hocquard
  • Malcolm Innes, Malcolm Innes Design
  • Rick Jellow
  • Athanassios A. Kanellias
  • Zheng Lu, Lichtease Lighting Design (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
  • Anastasia Lyons
  • Donald L. McDaniel
  • William C. O'Connell, Eaton
  • Michael O'Connor
  • Clint L. Paugh, Henderson Engineers, Inc.
  • Todd A. Peak
  • Gerard M. Plank
  • Richard C. Renfro, Renfro Design Group, Inc.
  • John S. Richards
  • April Ruedaflores
  • S. Ryan Schmidt
  • Richard F. Snow, Eaton Inc
  • Juan M. Tobon
  • Brian Tran, IA Interior Architects
  • David White
  • David Wilburn, Rubin Museum of Art
  • Barry Young
  • Morrie Zukerman