Committee Group: Lighting Applications

Statement of Purpose

This Technical Committee researches and develops best practices for exterior lighting and minimizing the negative impact of artificial light at night on the nocturnal environment.

Committee Scope Parameters

  • Included subject matter: The scope includes lighting issues that are primarily related to exterior lighting and have the potential for negative impact on the environment.
  • Excluded subject matter: This committee does not cover the illumination of related public areas outside the industrial project limitations. It works in conjunction with other IES committees that also provide lighting recommendations for the exterior environment such as roadway, street, pedestrian, airports, and public spaces to ensure the uniformity of lighting recommendations.
Documents maintained by this committee

RP-33 Lighting for Exterior Environments

  • Bob Parks, Smart Outdoor Lighting Alliance (SOLA)
Staff Liaison
  • Geomara Flores
  • Patricia A. McGillicuddy
  • David M. Keith, WSP USA
  • David Baum, Philips Lighting North America Corporation
  • Nancy E. Clanton, Clanton & Associates Inc.
  • Paul K. Ericson, Stantec Architecture Ltd.
  • Ronald Gibbons, Virginia Tech
  • Matthew Hartley, Matt Hartley Lighting
  • Robert L. Henderson, RAB Lighting, Inc.
  • Travis Longcore
  • Terry K. McGowan
  • Greg A. Ortt
  • Douglas W. Paulin, Lighting Forensics
  • Brandon S. Renouf, Landscape Forms, Inc.
  • James M. Stockman, J & M Lighting Design, Inc
  • C. Stanley Stubbe, Stubbe Consulting LLC
  • Yulia Tyukhova, Acuity Brands, Inc.
  • Karolina M. Zielinska-Dabkowska, Designs-4-People [d4p]
Advisory Members
  • Christopher L. Bailey, Hubbell Lighting, Inc.
  • Ronnie Farrar, Duke Energy Co
  • Jim Frazer, Gridaptive Technologies
  • James Highgate, The Lighting Group Inc
  • George F. Kruggel, A.L.P. Lighting Components Inc
  • Jackson Leung, Lux Vision Limited
  • Rebecca Rainer, Eaton Inc
  • Dione D. Rowell, LitePol, LLC
  • Jane Slade
  • Mai M. Yeung, Beca
Honorary Members
  • David L. Crawford