Light for Life – A Global Collaboration

Light for Life

“Light for Life” is a global conversation about the impact of light on the lives of humans, plants, and animals. As hosts of this collaborative webinar series, the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) will facilitate 17 webinars over the course of two days, with 15 partner organizations from around the world. Each organization will curate their own webinar in the series shaping the discussion of “Light for Life” with unique perspectives from all 7 continents.

In practice, the potential of light is something we often view through the lens of our own country’s trends, concerns and accomplishments. By opening this webinar series to global partners, the IES hopes to bring people together to learn from one another about the impact of light on lives all over the world. This series will be free for all.

Please note that CEUs will not be provided for any of these presentations.

27/JULY/2020

Light Beyond Illumination for the Underserved   Prajna Khann, Yue Cui
Connecting the World with Light   David Soos
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Netherlands
Netherlands

TIME: 15:00 CEST | 09:00 EDT

PRESENTERS:

Prajna KhannPrajna Khann

Yue CuiYue Cui

David SoosDavid Soos

27/JULY/2020

Society of Light and Lighting

How Do We Measure Our Experience of Daylight (and should we even try?)
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: United Kingdom
United Kingdom

TIME: 15:00 BST | 10:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Ruth Kelly WasketRuth Kelly Wasket

27/JULY/2020

National Research Council Canada

Integrate Electric Lighting and Daylighting to Provide High-Quality Light for Life
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Canada
Canada

TIME: 12:00 EDT | 12:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Jennifer VeitchJennifer Veitch

27/JULY/2020

U. S. National Park ServiceHalf the Park is After Dark - “Light as a Cultural, Historical, and Natural Resource across the National Park Service”
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: United States
United States

TIME: 13:00 EDT | 13:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Jeremy WhiteJeremy White

27/JULY/2020

ACDLBioluminescence: The Glow of Life
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Colombia
Columbia

TIME: 14:00 COT | 15:00 EDT

PRESENTERS:

Luis EspinelLuis Espinel

Jorge CurtidorJorge Curtidor

27/JULY/2020

Illuminating Engineering Society

Ancestral Heirs of Light

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Mexico
Mexico

 

 

TIME: 15:00 CDT | 16:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Elias CisnerosElias Cisneros

28/JULY/2020 | 27/JULY/2020

LUCI Association

The Collaborative Night: Where Light and Cities Meet
 
PRESENTATION COUNTRY: France
France

TIME: 0:00 CEST (28/July/2020) | 18:00 EDT (27/July/2020)

PRESENTER:

Leni SchwendingerLeni Schwendinger

28/JULY/2020 | 27/JULY/2020

The Illuminating Engineering Society of Australia and New Zealand

Farms, Food, and Photonics

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: New Zealand
New Zealand

 

 

TIME: 12:00 NZST (28/July/2020) | 20:00 EDT (27/July/2020)

PRESENTER:

Cather SimpsonCather Simpson

28/JULY/2020 | 27/JULY/2020

The Illuminating Engineering Society of Australia and New Zealand

Using Field Study Research to Inform Lighting Design Practice

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Australia
Australia

 

 

TIME: 11:00 AEST (28/July/2020) | 21:00 EDT (27/July/2020)

PRESENTER:

Veronica Garcia HansenVeronica Garcia Hansen


28/JULY/2020

Indian Society of Lighting Engineers

Human Centric Lighting: Paradigm Shift in the Field of Illumination Engineering

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: India
India

 

 

TIME: 17:30 IST | 08:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Suddhasatwa ChakrabortySuddhasatwa Chakraborty

28/JULY/2020

The Society of Electrical, Electronics and Energy Engineers in Israel

"Let There Be Dark" – Ecological Consequences of Light Pollution and Mitigation for Nature Conservation in Israel

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Israel
Israel

 

 

TIME: 16:00 IDT | 09:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Noam Leader, Ph.DNoam Leader

28/JULY/2020

Illuminating Engineering Society of South Africa

Nature’s Illumination – The Continuous and Changing Spectrum of Daylight

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: South Africa
South Africa

 

 

TIME: 17:00 SAST | 11:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Steve PaoliniSteve Paolini

28/JULY/2020

Ice, Darkness, A Circadian Story

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Antarctica
Antartica

 

 

TIME: 19:00 ART | 12:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Martin ValentineMartin Valentine

28/JULY/2020

International Dark-Sky Association

The Night is Alive with Stellar Light

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: United States
United States

 

 

TIME: 12:00 MDT | 14:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

John BarentineJohn Barentine

28/JULY/2020

Universidad Nacional Autonoma d Mexico

Light and Life in Mexico City – An Integrated Project

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Mexico
Mexico

 

 

TIME: 14:00 CDT | 15:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Dr. Ana Maria CettoAna Maria Cetto

28/JULY/2020

Illuminating Engineering Society

Going Green: Lighting Design for Horticulture

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: Canada
Canada

 

 

TIME: 14:00 PDT | 17:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Ian AshdownIan Ashdown

28/JULY/2020

Illuminating Engineering Society

Circadian Metrics: From the Laboratory to the Built Environment

PRESENTATION COUNTRY: United States
United States

 

 

TIME: 15:00 PDT | 18:00 EDT

PRESENTER:

Andrea WilkersonAndrea Wilkerson