Society Awards

The IES recognizes outstanding individuals through a variety of award programs. They are described as follows:

Society Awards for Technical and Service Achievement

MEDAL AWARD (technical)
The IES Medal shall be awarded for the purpose of giving recognition to meritorious technical achievement that has conspicuously furthered the profession, art or knowledge of illuminating engineering. Accomplishments shall be in the field of engineering, design, applied illumination, optics, ophthalmology, lighting, research or education.

Named in honor of the first President of the IES, the Louis B. Marks Award shall be presented to a member of the Society in recognition of exceptional service to the Society of a non-technical nature.

The Distinguished Service Award shall be presented in recognition of continuous dedicated service to the Society, principally of a non-technical nature, having significantly furthered the purpose for which the Society was founded, and continued over a number of years in various programs and activities at, typically, regional and international levels. The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1967.

The IES Fellow designation shall be awarded to a member of the Society for valuable contribution to the technical activities of the Society; to the art or science of illumination; or to the related scientific or engineering fields.

This award recognizes outstanding application papers published in LD+A, LEUKOS, or presented at the IES Annual Conference or at a Regional Conference. The Taylor Technical Talent Award improves both the quality and quantity of papers on the practice of lighting by providing recognition of authors for their accomplishments, and raising the awareness of the need for these papers. In addition, it reaffirms the IES’s position of leadership as the authoritative body on lighting application by the recognition of outstanding contributions to applications literature by the Society.

The Presidential Award is given for recognition of excellence by the Society’s Board of Directors’ President.

The IES Illumination Awards program recognizes individuals for professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design based on the individual merit of each entry. Judges are selected from a broad professional spectrum, representing knowledge of lighting and design excellence. The judging system is entirely based on how well the lighting design meets the program criteria. The Illumination Awards program is not a competition.

Regional Awards for Technical and Service Achievement

Regional Service Award | Regional Technical Award

Section Awards

Section Meritorious Award | Section Service Award