Louis B. Marks Award

Named in honor of the first President of the IES, the Louis B. Marks Award shall be presented to a member of the Society in recognition of exceptional service to the Society of a non-technical nature.


Candidates shall be members of the IES.


  1. All nominations must be submitted completely filled out on the Louis B. Marks nomination form and must be accompanied by four letters from individuals supporting the nomination. No current member of the Marks Award Committee or the IES Board of Directors may serve as a nominator, proposer, or reference for the nomination. The form is available at the link located at the top of this page.
  2. The letters should include details of the candidate’s accomplishments relative to the criteria of the award. The Louis B. Marks Committee evaluates a candidate on the information submitted.
  3. The deadline for receipt of the Official Nomination Form at the IES Office is March 31. Nominations received after that date will be held for consideration the following year. The Chief Proposer will be advised on or about June 1 regarding the nomination.

The Award

The award is a framed certificate and a crystal sculpture presented at the IES Annual Conference.


Please contact the Chairperson of the Louis B. Marks Committee or the IES office.


  • Lewis, Alan (2023)
  • Mercier, Kim (2022)
  • English, Cheryl (2021)
  • Oberkircher, Fred (2020)
  • Clanton, Nancy (2019)
  • Harrold, Rita (2018)
  • McGowan, Terry K. (2017)
  • Mercier, Paul (2017)
  • Noell-Waggoner, Eunice (2017)
  • Brown, William (2016)
  • Sternberg, Lewis (2015)
  • Miller, Naomi J. (2014)
  • Flynn, Kevin (2013)
  • Good III, Joseph M. (2011)
  • Ginthner, Delores (2010)
  • Horner, Pamela (2008)
  • McSweeney, Diarmuid (2006)
  • Brandston, Howard (2005)
  • Lewin, Ian (2003)
  • Murdoch, Joseph (2002)
  • Knott, Roger (2001)
  • Squillace, Stephen (2000)
  • LeVere, Richard (1997)
  • Wylie, Robert (1996)
  • Amick, Charles (1995)
  • Stark, Richard (1993)
  • Jewell, James E. (1992)
  • Kaufman, John (1990)
  • Fisher, Will S. (1988)
  • Taylor, George J. (1987)
  • Tao, William K.Y. (1986)
  • Clark, Francis (1985)